Mines and Money Awards for Outstanding Achievement

The world-renowned Mines and Money Awards for outstanding achievement return after a 1-year hiatus celebrating the best of the best.

From exploration to deal-making, from innovation in technology to CEOs who have made a difference, the awards recognise and reward excellence. The awards ceremony will take place following the close of conference day on Wednesday 1 December at the Business Design Centre.

Please note nominations for the 2021 Awards are now closed.

Awards Categories

  • Exploration Discovery of the Year Award
  • Mining CEO of the Year Award - Sponsored by Extractive Search
  • Deal of the Year Award – Sponsored by BMO
  • Charles Kermot Mining Analyst of the Year Award
  • ESG Awards – Sponsored by Digbee & Satarla
  • Lifetime Achievement Award

Awards Shortlist

Mining CEO of the Year Award Shortlist

  • Paul Cronin, CEO, Adriatic Metals
  • Morgan Hart, CEO, Emerald Minerals
  • Sebastian De Montessus, CEO, Endeavour Mining
  • Simon Ridgway, CEO, Gold Group
  • Marna Cloete, President, Ivanhoe Mines
  • Tony Makuch, CEO, Kirkland Lake Gold
  • Eric Fier, CEO, Silvercrest Minerals
  • Peter Dembicki, President & CEO, Tier One Silver

ESG Award Shortlist for Producers

  • Couer Mining
  • Golden Star Resources
  • New Century Resources
  • Teck

ESG Award Shortlist for Explorers and Developers

  • Akobo Minerals
  • Geodrill
  • Mawson Gold
  • Royal Road Minerals

Exploration Discovery of the Year Award Shortlist

  • Amex Exploration - For its very high-grade and visible gold in three different zones, Eastern Gold Zone, (including the Denise Zone) Gratien Gold Zone and Grey Cat Gold Zone.
  • Chalice Gold Mines - For its Julimar Project, described by Federal Minister for Resources and Water Keith Pitt as a tier-1 discovery, with 10-million ounces of palladium, platinum and gold, which will create hundreds of jobs and billions in economic benefits.
  • DeGrey Mining - For the Hemi Discovery, considered to be one of the greatest Australian discoveries of the last few decades.
  • Sovereign Metals - For its discovery of the first ever new style of rutile, but went on to define a 644Mt @ 1.01% maiden discovery just 18M post first drilling.
  • Volcanic Gold Mines - For its Holly Project in Guatemala, a highly underexplored region with great mineral potential.

Mining Deal of the Year Award Shortlist

  • Endeavour Mining for its acquisition of Teranga
  • Sandfire Resources acquisition finance to the purchase of Trafigura's MATSA assets - consisting of US$650m in sydnicated and underwritten debt facility and a fully underwritten US$950m equity raise
  • Trafigura’s sale of its MATSA assets to Sandfire Resources for US$1.8bn
  • Agnico Eagle Kirkland Lake Gold merger of equals
  • Appian’s sale of its Brazilian Nickel Assets to Sibanye for US$1.0bn, plus additional royalty
  • Polymetals's innovative sustainability-linked bond financing by Unicredit and Raiffeisen Bank, for US$400m with interest rate payments linked to Greenhouse Gas (GHG) emissions
Exploration Discovery of the Year Award

Criteria: For a major exploration discovery. The exploration discovery doesn’t necessarily need to have been made in the last 24 months, but this was the period in which the industry recognised that this discovery had the potential to become a significant mine.

Charles Kermot Mining Analyst of the Year – Sponsored by London Mining Club

Criteria: Decided by a board chosen by the London Mining Club, this award recognises an outstanding mining analyst in their field.

Mining CEO of the Year - Sponsored by Extractive Search

Open: Open to CEOs at any mining company.

Criteria: This award was created to recognise leadership in exploration, development and production, cost discipline and delivering shareholder returns over the past 24 months.

Deal(s) of the Year Award - Sponsored by BMO

Open To: Any deal over the time period below.

Criteria: Based on the period November 2019 to October 2021. Can be for a takeover, merger or listing that has most captured the imagination of the financial community. The award rewards synergy, where there has been a real 2+2 = 5 outcome.

ESG Awards – Sponsored by Digbee & Satarla

Open To: Any mining company. There will be two awards, one for juniors (exploration/development), and one for producers.

Criteria: There will be a +5 / -5 scoring scale for the questions in the nomination form. The scores will be decided by a panel of experts chosen by Digbee and Satarla.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Open To: Decided by the Advisory Board alone.

Criteria: Someone who has made a difference in their career to the mining industry. Previous winners include: Peter Munk, Mark Bristow, Andrew Forrest and Pierre Lassonde. Judges are the Mines and Money Advisory Board.